Sometimes, a disagreement can get a little heated before it’s resolved. Unfortunately, a heated argument can turn into an arrest for assault. Worse, you might be accused of more than assault.

Aggravated assault in Illinois is a serious accusation, and it’s one that you may need help overcoming. Fortunately, the lawyers at Adesina Law Firm, PC may be able to help you fight your criminal charges and look into getting them reduced or dismissed. If you’ve been accused of aggravated assault, they can review the details of your Illinois case and do what’s possible to help you deal with your situation.

Simple Assault vs. Aggravated Assault

First, understanding the difference between assault and aggravated assault is important. While assault is usually charged along with battery, assault includes conduct that causes the person to expect battery, or physical violence.

The details that turn assault into aggravated assault fall into a few categories, like the following:

  • Location – An assault on private property might be labeled as assault or domestic violence. However, if you’re accused of threatening someone in public or on public property, it becomes an aggravated assault charge.
  • Victim – Certain types of assaults are more severe depending on the person who accused you of assault. For example, if a peace officer or a sports official during a game accuses you of threatening them, you might suffer more severe consequences than assaulting another Illinois resident might bring.
  • Method – While threatening someone in general is assault, the presence of a deadly weapon or vehicle can raise the stakes. That means you might face worse penalties for offenses involving a gun, knife, or vehicle.

When to Fight Your Illinois Assault Charges

Assault is already a serious charge in Illinois—one that might mean prison time and serious fines. However, your aggravated assault charges could mean even more serious penalties. Because of that, it’s more important than ever to defend yourself.

Typically, aggravated assault is a Class A misdemeanor. That usually means up to a year in prison with a $2,500 fine. However, the presence of a deadly weapon may mean a Class 4 felony charge. That means more than a year in prison and fines that may max out at $25,000.

In addition, accepting a conviction means that you’ll have a criminal record. That can affect your employment and housing since those with records—especially felons—are often turned away for jobs or housing opportunities. Expungement may not be an option, either, since it can take time to expunge your record and you may not have the opportunity in every case. Instead, it’s best to talk to an Illinois attorney now and start fighting back.

Seek Help from an Illinois Attorney

If you’re facing consequences after being accused of threatening someone, or worse, if you’ve been accused of assault and battery, your future could be on the line. If that’s the case, you’ll need to get help building a strong defense for your case.

If you’ve been accused of aggravated assault in Illinois, you may need a lawyer from Adesina Law Firm, PC on your side. We understand the effects of a conviction, and we have the tools you may need for your defense.

Adesina Law Firm Top-Rated Criminal
Defense Law Firm in Chicago